Norima: Contemporary American Cuisine in Abidjan’s Suburbs

Norima American Restaurant, Abidjan, Ivory CoastI have a confession to make.  When we moved to Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire a year ago, I never imagined I would eat at (let alone review) an American restaurant!  I’m one of those travelers who prides herself on going local, not eating food I could enjoy better at home in the United States.

In fact, I rode blithely past Norima for months thinking “American food in Abidjan.  Yeah right.  What a joke!”  Then I came across a blog post written by fellow Abidjan Foodie, Journal d’une Foodie.  My comrade literally raved about the cocktails and the food at Norima.  I was sold.  If the cocktails were as good as she claimed, who needed food anyway?!
Raspberry Mojito, Norima, Abidjan, Ivory Coast

If you’re a cocktail fan, you won’t want to miss this delicious raspberry mojito.

So, my husband and I packed up the whole Grazer team and headed to Norima with high hopes.  We weren’t disappointed.  Not only were the cocktails every bit as good as my friend claimed, but we were also pleased to find such exotic delicacies as Dr. Pepper and real American bacon!

The cocktails at Norima are not to be missed.  I have yet to try one I didn’t enjoy.  My husband and I both adore the Raspberry Mojito, which would be an unusual (and refreshing) treat anywhere in the world.  The other drinks I’ve sampled are equally good.  They are unfailingly creative, refreshing, and a departure from the humdrum.
As a family, we really love Norima’s burgers, which are served in classic American style — with crispy fries, and generous sides of ketchup and the house signature smoked mayonnaise.  Normally, we go for the Classic Cheese Burger.
Norima Classic Cheeseburger, Abidjan, Ivory Coast

The classic cheeseburger is a welcome American treat in the heart of Abidjan.

On my most recent visit, however, I worked up the courage to try my usual favorite when I’m in the United States, the Atlanta Blue Burger.  Norima didn’t disappoint!  My burger was perfectly balanced.  The sweetness of caramelized onions is always a fantastic counterpoint to the sharpness of blue cheese and, when paired with Norima’s juicy and well-seasoned ground beef patty, it is heaven itself!

The younger Grazers are particularly partial to the buffalo wings and tacos, frequently opting to make their meal out of one or the other of these hearty and familiar appetizers.  Even the fiery hot wings are enjoyed with gusto by the younger set, who inevitably compete to finish them.
Norima is a restaurant that pairs terrific food and drink with fantastic service.  The friendly staff never fail to make us all feel right at home — which is not that easy with a family of six.  It’s a terrific destination for a weekend afternoon out or for any other time you might have a hankering for a taste of the USA in the heart of Abidjan.
Buffalo Wings, Norima, Abidjan, Ivory Coast

These tasty buffalo wings are a welcome treat.

Our Verdict:  Norima is a terrific spot to enjoy authentic American food in Abidjan.  It’s a comfortable destination for families, but is an equally enticing destination for the young and free.  We all highly recommend it!

Norima
Deux Plateaux Les Vallons,
Derrière Le Cash Center,
A Coté Du Groupe Scolaire Claire Fontaine.

Tel: +225 22 51 03 14 / 02 63 63 61 / 07 53 53 23

Web:  http://www.norimarestuarant.com/

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: 11:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m. (M-F)
Brunch:  10:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m. (Sundays only)
Dinner:  5:30 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. (M-F) & 15:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m. (Saturdays & Sundays)

Price Range: Moderate

9 responses to “Norima: Contemporary American Cuisine in Abidjan’s Suburbs

  1. Pingback: Norima: Contemporary American Cuisine in Abidjan’s Suburbs | West African Food | Scoop.it·

  2. I’m not a big fan of burgers and fries, but I would definitely go for this delicious raspberry mojito ;-):-). Eating Asian food made me realized I don’t fancy fast food anymore.

Leave a Reply

