Côte d’Ivoire’s Answer to Starbucks

Youki Moka, Ivory CoastWhen we first moved from the United States to Africa five years ago, I admit I went through Starbucks withdrawal. I have always been a coffee junkie and Starbucks has a unique coffee beverage for every mood and season. Nothing else comes close…

Côte d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast), however, has its own answer to Starbucks, in the form of Youki Moka Cafe. It is fizzy, sweetened, iced coffee in a glass. Mmmm…

Drinking Youki Moka feels like Africa’s answer to the soda fountain chocolate cokes of my childhood. It’s a unique and tasty treat. So, if you’re not up for a beer this holiday season, why not try a Youki Moka instead?!  You could even add a scoop of vanilla ice cream, for an authentic soda fountain treat!

10 responses to “Côte d’Ivoire’s Answer to Starbucks

  1. I am almost surprised that Starbucks hasn’t opened branches in Côte d’Ivoire – if only for the expat community! Starbucks arrived just a couple of years ago in Argentina and while I’m one of many expats in the place when I go in, it’s definitely become a trend for Argentines too! In the downtown area and in the wealthiest neighborhoods there are plenty of Starbucks to choose from, though I think it’s still getting its feet off the ground in other places.

    • Here in Côte d’Ivoire — unlike Latin America — there’s really not much of a “coffee culture”. It could easily be developed though because those who travel abroad certainly enjoy their cappuccinos and other coffee drinks:). I’m not sure why Starbucks is so disinterested in African markets, but believe a South African competitor (like Seattle Coffee) is likely to be the first entrant here:)

  2. Hey Jeanette,

    You just wrote a new entry on my bucket list. I’m also a coffee addict and enjoy varying the coffee experiences. For example, Vietnamese coffee is my top choice if I have such option. Love from the first sip.

    Do you know if Youki Moka or equivalent is available on any other continent?

    Have a great weekend,
    Cez

    • Hi Cez! I’m not sure whether or not Youki Moka is available outside Côte d’Ivoire. I’ve never seen it anywhere else; but, maybe in African markets? Or, better yet, maybe you & Agness could come here & try it one of these days…. I also love Thai coffee. I’m going to try the Vietnamese version since you recommend it so highly:)

  3. After reading your post and the comments, I Googled Youki Moka beverage to check it out and your post came up first. Like you said, it doesn’t seem to be available outside of Côte d’Ivoire. It sounds delicious.

    • It is truly delicious! I wish I could share a bottle with each of you:). On the other hand, maybe it’s a sign from the universe that you should visit Abidjan and enjoy a bottle of Youki Moka a.k.a. “Tip Top Café” with us here:)

Leave a Reply

