I’m Thankful for the Journey

Baby Giraffe, Lion Park, Gauteng, South AfricaSometimes the things we hate, have a strange way of becoming the things we treasure.

When my parents first told me we were moving to Africa, I wasn’t very excited. I was really scared and didn’t know what to expect.

Today, though, I am thankful for the journey that we’ve taken together as a family and for the beautiful places we’ve seen in South Africa and the Ivory Coast.

I don’t remember the plane we took to South Africa, because I was only 3 when we moved. I’m thankful, though, for the game drives, animals, and natural beauty of South Africa.

Lion, Lion Park, Gauteng, South Africa

Majestic lion relaxes in the shade.

I do remember the flight to Ivory Coast. While we were on the plane, we stopped in Ghana. I looked out the window when we were flying over Ghana and everything I saw was brown; but, when we were over the Ivory Coast everything became green. So, I’m thankful for the natural tropical beauty that is so different from the landscape I was used to in South Africa. I’m also thankful for all the lizards and snails I see here!

This journey has changed my life. If we’d stayed home, I would never have seen the beauty of Africa or spent so much time with my family!

12 responses to “I’m Thankful for the Journey

  1. Stefano and I have been to Africa many times. We even considered to buy a house there. We think it is a magical country with unique colors and flavors. You have been blessed! 😉

  2. You are certainly fortunate to have parents who took you on these journeys. There’s no place like Africa. 🙂 Beautiful pictures of the local wildlife – one of the reasons I am anxious to one day return.

    • I feel even luckier to have the privilege of living in Africa because of the wildlife. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

