Thankful for Family Time

Coconut Palms, Ivory Coast

Coconut palms such as these are home to some of the noisiest birds that wake me in the morning.

In the U.S.

I remember waking up to the sound of chatter as my parents got ready for the day ahead of them. I hopped out of bed and walked to their room, where I found my mom and dad rushing to get ready so they could eat something before they left home.  I said good morning and exited the room quietly.

Then, I rushed to my bathroom, took a shower, and got dressed.  I was also in a hurry to get to school.   By the time I finished grooming myself, I ran down the stairs to find no one but my older sister and babysitter.  I held back the tears because I was so sad that I didn’t even get to say goodbye; but, there was no time to cry.  I went to the kitchen, got a bowl of cereal, ate, and left the house.

Later that day, I came home from school with my sister.  Since I was in kindergarten, I had no homework; but, for my older sister, whose backpack was loaded with papers due the next morning, I can’t say the same.

Since our parents hadn’t arrived yet, she couldn’t get started.  We ran to the playroom in our basement and played some games for a few hours. Later, we went to bathe again.  My sister and I ate dinner, went upstairs, and turned on the T.V.  We watched a few shows and I fell asleep because I was very tired.  The next morning we woke up to the same dull routine as the day before.

Take a second to think how you’d feel if that was your daily routine.  It was hard to do that every day when I was only six years old.

Six Years Later in Africa

I wake up at 6:00 a.m. to the sound birds chirping and take a shower.  Once I’m bathed, my father and mother are both awake. I go to say a leisurely good morning, leave the room, and begin studying.

When my parents and siblings have all bathed, we go downstairs to eat as a family, something that is part of our daily routine.  We eat and chat.  After that, my father says good bye and goes to work.  My mother stays home.  So, she can help us all with our schoolwork.  Since we are now home-schooled, my mother also works from home.

At noon, my family and I head downstairs to eat lunch together.  When we finish our schoolwork, we watch films and play games together.  These are some memories that will last a lifetime.

I am thankful that my family can now spend so much time together.  As you can see, we couldn’t do that before.  It is one of the many things I enjoy about our life in Africa.

5 responses to “Thankful for Family Time

  1. Pingback: Thankful for Family Time | Tadika2U.com - Early Childhood Education·

  2. I loved your contrast of life in the US and life in Africa. It sounds like the change was truly for the best. Thanks you for sharing and reminding us how precious family time together is.

Leave a Reply

