Boulaouane: Another Moroccan Wine, A Very Different Experience

Boulaouane Vin Gris, MoroccoWell, dear readers, after the pleasant surprise we had in December with our first Moroccan wine, a Guerrouane from Domaine de Sahari, I was determined to learn more about Moroccan wines and wine regions.  After a bit of research, it became evident that one of the wines for which Morocco is well known is Vin Gris, which is a rosé.

Most Americans dislike rosés, generally believing they are sweet (which some California rosés certainly are).  However, being in a very hot country, I have learned to appreciate the light, refreshing flavors of a good rosé on a humid tropical evening.  Moreover, with a wide selection of high-quality and affordable French wines at the neighborhood grocery store, I have discovered that a good rosé is not sweet.  It is nicely balanced and can even be pleasantly dry.  So, Moroccan rosé was an easy sell.

Unfortunately, the wine turned out to be a colossal disappointment.  This particular wine is made of a combination of Cinsault and Grenache gris, which ought to give the wine a light, fragrant, refreshing flavor — everything I was expecting.  Unfortunately, the first sip told me I should not have opened the bottle on the terrace in the evening with light snacks.  Its dryness called out for heartier fare.  (Personally, I was dreaming of kibbeh and I still suspect the wine might have tasted better with a plate of kibbeh than it did in either of my two tastings.)  Beyond its dryness, the flavors of the wine were very subtle, almost to the point of blandness.

Not trusting my initial (negative) judgement, I decided to cork the rest of the bottle and have a glass the following evening.  Big mistake!  The following day, when I poured the final drops of this beautiful pink wine into my glass and tasted it on a clean palate, I was immediately struck by unpleasant metallic flavors.

Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this particular Vin Gris.  However, knowing there are some great Moroccan Vin Gris out there, I intend to continue searching!

Our Verdict:  This wine was definitely not worth its purchase price (ca. 3500 CFA, US$7).  One can purchase an excellent bottle of French wine for that price in Abidjan.  Not recommended.

10 responses to “Boulaouane: Another Moroccan Wine, A Very Different Experience

  1. Interesting to hear a review of Moroccan wine; I’ve never had any myself. Coming from British Columbia, Canada, where wine costs are really high due to liquor tax, I wouldn’t expect to get anything palatable for $7 USD, although I know this is not the case in most of the rest of the world.

    Did you get the chance to try any other Moroccan wines that delivered?

  2. Thank you for sharing your wine notes, Jeanette: I have to say I have grown addicted to your perspective on Moroccan wines! It broadens my horizons and you teach me something (even if this bottle turned out to be a disappointment to you – sorry)!

    • It’s only a pleasure. Hopefully, we’ll have better luck next time. I also spotted some Tunisian wine recently. So, I’m hoping to be able to share a bit on that too 🙂

Leave a Reply

